At Little Angels...high quality education matters

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

Revised EYFS Framework (2017)

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early years experts and parents.  Every child deserves the best possible start in life and support to fulfil their potential. A child’s experience in the early years has a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right, and it provides the foundation for children to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up. When parents choose to use early years’ services, such as a Nursery, they want to know that provision will keep their children safe and help them to thrive. The Revised EYFS is the framework that provides that assurance.

In 2012 the framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use, with more focus on the things that matter most. This new framework also has a greater emphasis on our role in helping your child develop.

The framework has been revised again with changes to the statutory guidance came in to effect in April 2017.

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children, aged 0-5, to achieve the five Every Child Matters outcomes of

  • staying safe,
  • being healthy,
  • enjoying and achieving,
  • making a positive contribution,
  • and achieving economic wellbeing.

The EYFS framework gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children. It supports an integrated approach to early learning and care.

The EYFS curriculum is play based, broad, flexible and child-centred, covering seven areas of learning and development and divided into two specific areas; Prime and Specific.

Prime Areas:

The Prime areas are key to successful learning and development and children need to be sufficient in these aspects before progressing into specific areas.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

All these areas are important and interconnected. The EYFS acknowledges that children develop at their own rates and that they learn through being:

  • Active
  • Playing and exploring
  • Creating and thinking critically

These are described as Characteristics of Effective Learning.

At Little Angels we offer an exciting and highly motivating introduction to education and encourage a positive attitude towards learning. The activities offered are often differentiated to suit each child’s needs. We believe in allowing children to be able to accomplish realistic goals and be suitably rewarded before setting the next challenge.

Little Angels...preparing your child for life long learning